Well, we hope this doesn't happen but the answer is no.  But once you click on the delete account feature and you confirm to delete your account, that's it, it's gone!  But its ok, you can always sign back up with the same email and create a brand new account.  All of the messages, pictures and profile info from the old profile will be deleted.